Resource Sharing Committee Meeting: February 18, 2016

Conference Call

Members attending:  Bryan Clark (ICC), Susan Duncan (UIU), Sandy Engram (ICO), Kelly Fisher (Eureka), Amy LeFager (NLU), Sarah Mueth (UIS), Jeff Ridinger (ISU), Jennifer Stegen (Loyola)
Members absent: Marcella Nowak (COD)

Staff attending: Debbie Campbell
Staff absent: Lorna Engels


  • January meeting minutes were approved without comment
  • Instead of creating a new listserv topic this month, it was agreed that we would all respond to the question posted by Ruth Nelson on Mon 2/15/2016. “I'd like to learn how other academic libraries handle outstanding lost book fines from students who have left the school (without graduating).  How long do you continue to list the fee, and at what point do you waive it?”


  • Open registration is now available for the first open-house on March 24th, and save-the-date notices for the next two.
  • Reciprocal borrowing agreements with non-CARLI libraries are okay.  Brief discussion of current agreements among the committee members

Tasks assigned:

  • Decision reached that the committee will recommend a $15 cap for processing fees.  Amy will draft a recommendation for Committee discussion, which Debbie will then forward to CARLI staff for additional feedback.  Final document will then be shared with CARLI members.
  • Articles from the open access bibliography were assigned to committee members who will provide annotations by Friday, February 26th.
  • Committee members will add their institution responses to the Listserv Open Access Responses document in the Box folder by Friday, February 26th.  Jeff will the provide a synthesis document to the committee by Friday, March 4th.

Meeting Dates and Deadlines:

  • Next Meeting: Thursday, March 17th, Amy LeFager, minutes
  • Schedule of Resource Sharing Committee Meetings:
    • Thursday, April 21st, Jennifer Stegen, minutes
    • Thursday, May 19th, Bryan Clark, minutes
    • Thursday, June 16th, Susie Duncan, minutes