DCUG Meeting: June 19, 2013

Wednesday, June 19, 2013
Conference Call

Members present: Ellen Corrigan (Eastern Illinois University), Chris Day, Chair (School of the Art Institute of Chicago), Laurie Sauer (Knox College), Adam Strohm (Newberry Library), Julia Thompson (Western Illinois University)

Members absent: Mary Rose (Southern Illinois University Edwardsville), Benn Joseph (Northwestern University), David Levinson (Lake Forest College)

CARLI staff present: Jessica Gibson, Amy Maroso (liaison to DCUG)

  1. Confirmed Laurie Sauer as minutes taker.
  2. Minutes from the May 15 meeting were approved with corrections.
  3. DCUG annual report--Chris explained that he needed to get the report to the Board on short notice, so there was no time for the group to review it. Chris asked for comments on the annual report previously sent via email to the group on June 17 and none were made.
  4. Election of new chair. Mary Rose nominated Adam Strohm via email. The nomination was accepted and Adam was elected chair.

Project Updates

  • Featured Collections - Adam Strohm and Laurie Sauer reported that the draft proposal was revised, incorporating advice and comments made at the last meeting. The new draft allows for some more flexibility in focusing the webinars on issues with collections rather than topics about platforms. Adam will forward the revised draft to the group.
  • FLICKR/Pinterest/Tumblr - Chris Day and Julia Thompson have no new updates. Julia would like to work with someone in the fall on a cooperative presentation related to this project; Chris Day expressed interest in participating.
  • Google Analytics [Chris Day, Mary Rose, Adam Strohm] - Final report of the year is complete and will be posted on the web site soon. The instructions have been finalized and are posted on the DCUG wiki. 
  • Image of the Week [Ellen Corrigan, Mary Rose] – Laurie Sauer did another guest post and Mary and Ellen did a co-authored post. The next post will be a crowdsourced post, organized by Mary Rose. 

Other/New business/Conference Reporting 

Amy Maroso thanked Chris Day for his service as chair. Chris Day, Laurie Sauer and Ellen Corrigan are leaving the committee. The final selections for new committee members have not yet been announced.