Created Content Committee Meeting: June 13, 2018


Members present: Ian Collins (University of Illinois at Chicago), Ellen Corrigan, Chair (Eastern Illinois University), Alice Creason (Lewis University), Marlee Graser (Southern Illinois University Edwardsville), Tricia Lampron (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign), Matt Short (Northern Illinois University)
Members absent: Colin Koteles (College of DuPage), Greer Martin (Illinois Institute of Technology)
CARLI staff present: Amy Maroso

CARLI staff absent: Elizabeth Clarage


  • Tricia was confirmed to take minutes this month.
  • The May 9, 2018 meeting minutes were approved.

Update on the Committee Membership Roster for 2018/2019

  • Ariana Lim (Lewis University)
  • Hunt Dunlap (Western Illinois University)
  • Angela Yon (Illinois State University)

Electing a New Chair

  • Eligible members: Marlee, Colin, Tricia, Greer, Matt
  • Matt volunteers for the chair position - Matt was confirmed as the chair for 2018/2019.

CONTENTdm Update

CARLI’s CONTENTdm instance will become OCLC hosted within the next few months.

  • The current contract is up at the end of the month, and the new contract starts July 1, 2018.
  • OCLC is removing support for locally hosted CONTENTdm instances.
  • Changes:
    • OCLC will create logins for users now
    • Possible server URL change
    • Possibly some downtime
  • Questions:
    • What will be other changes or differences?
      • Most other things will stay the same.
      • We don’t know how much control (indexing etc.) that CARLI will have locally vs. what will need to be requested for OCLC help.
    • Copyright agreements since we are moving to OCLC space?
      • The agreement collection owners had signed with CARLI was based on OCLC agreement with CARLI so rights should not change.

Next Meeting

There will be a welcome meeting for new members in July. Amy will set up a doodle poll.