Commercial Products Committee Meeting: June 4, 2021


Members Attending: Jessica Harris (U. Chicago), Jim Millhorn (Northern Illinois University), Marie Martino (Moraine Valley Community College), Kavita Mundle (University of Illinois at Chicago), Megan Ruenz (Wheaton College), Amanda Wiesenhofer (Lincoln Land Community College)

Members Absent: Edith List (Principia College), Will Midgley (University of Illinois at Chicago), Thane Montaner (Prairie State College)

CARLI Staff Attending:  Jenny Taylor, Nicole Ream-Sotomayor, Elizabeth Clarage


CARLI Updates

CARLI Board Meeting scheduled for Friday, June 11 via Zoom.

Jenny provided a preliminary update on the FY21 cycle.

Elizabeth updated the committee on the consortial ebooks project with Wiley and Oxford University Press. Elizabeth is reviewing usage data, which will inform CARLI's decisions about titles to purchase. Libraries will be sent their institutional statistics and members can make purchases that will be available for all consortia members. Elizabeth also provided an update on the extension of the program for FY2022.

Nicole gave an overview of the newly-formed E-Resources Management Task Force. Nicole will also serve as a CARLI staff liaison for this group, and CPC member Megan Ruenz will serve on the group.



No product proposals this month

New committee members for FY22

In FY22, CPC will continue with the following appointments, with 1 appointment still outstanding:

  • 1 year terms: Marie Martino (MVCC), Megan Ruenz (Wheaton), Edith List (Principia)
  • 2 year terms: Amanda Weisenhofer (LLCC), Neil Das (SIUE)
  • 3 year terms: Jessica Harris (UChicago), Michelle Hunt (NIU), Sarah Johnson (EIU)

Anyone interested in serving as chair for FY22 should e-mail Jenny and Nicole.


Minutes from the April 30, 2021 meeting were approved, with edits.

Meeting Dates

Next Meeting: All-committee meeting will be announced soon and will occur in July. First CPC meeting of FY22 is TBD.