CARLI Board Meeting: June 17, 2016

CARLI Office, Champaign

Members attending: Mary Case (University of Illinois at Chicago), Anne Craig (Illinois State Library), Jim Cubit (Lake Forest College), Richard Darga (Chicago State University), Cate Kaufman (Illinois Central College), Dennis Krieb (Lewis & Clark Community College), Tammy Kuhn-Schnell (Lincoln Land Community College), Felice Maciejewski (Dominican University), Lydia Morrow Ruetten (Governors State University), Susan Singleton (CARLI), David Stern (Saint Xavier University), John Wilkin (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign)

Absent: Brian Beecher (College of Lake County), Scott Walter (DePaul University)

Guests: Cindy Fuller (Millikin University), Dane Ward (Illinois State University), Sarah Zehr (University of Illinois)

Staff attending: Margaret Chambers, Elizabeth Clarage, Cindy Clennon, Brandon Gant, Kristine Hammerstrand, Connie Walsh


  • Minutes of the March 14, 2016 meeting were approved prior to the meeting.
  • Rich Darga (Chicago State University) was selected as the 2016–2017 Vice-chair/Chair-elect.
  • The Board thanked outgoing members Mary Case (University of Illinois at Chicago),  and Scott Walter (DePaul University) for their service to the Board. The June 17 meeting was their final Board meeting. Board Chair-elect Brian Beecher, will serve as Ex Officio Chair.
  • CARLI has updated the I-Share Resource Sharing Code to clarify the eligibility of patron types for I-Share borrowing privileges. The following text will be inserted in the existing code:
    • I-Share resource sharing, i.e., patron-initiated or staff-mediated borrowing of materials held by other I-Share member libraries remotely or onsite, is intended to serve the I-Share member libraries’ primary clientele including current students, faculty, and staff. I-Share resource sharing is not to be used to provide interlibrary borrowing services to the broader public, e.g., community residents and permit holders. While an I-Share library may opt to serve these individuals from their own collection, these borrowers should be directed to their local public library for interlibrary loan services.
  • The Board accepted the annual reports from the Collection Management Committee, Commercial Products Committee, Created Content Committee, Instruction Committee, Preservation Committee, Public Services Committee, Resource Sharing Committee, SFX Systems Committee, and the Technical Services Committee. The Board was impressed by the depth and breadth of the work of the committees. The Board thanked the committees and their staff liaisons for their excellent work.
  • The reports are:
    • Collection Management Committee: 2016 Annual Report, and Collaborative Collection Development
    • Commercial Products Committee: 2016 Annual Report, and Usage Statistics for Electronic Resources
    • Created Content Committee: 2016 Annual Report, and The CARLI Digital Collections Tumblr
    • Instruction Committee: 2016 Annual Report, and Framing the Big Picture of Library Instruction: Implementing the new Framework for Information Literacy for Higher Education
    • Preservation Committee: 2016 Annual Report, and A Year in the Life: AV/Media Preservation in Illinois
    • Public Services Committee: 2016 Annual Report, and Productivity Tools List
    • Resource Sharing Committee: 2016 Annual Report, and Open Access and Interlibrary Loan
    • SFX Committee: 2016 Annual Report, and SFX and Integration with Other Products
    • Technical Services Committee: 2016 Annual Report, and MarcEdit for Database Maintenance: A Select Primer
  • The meeting was adjourned at 1:35 p.m.


  • Dr. Christophe Pierre, current Vice-President of University Administration has resigned from the University of Illinois to accept a new position in New Jersey. Dr. Pierre’s last day is August 31. 
  • Anne Craig will begin as Senior Director at CARLI on July 1. Anne will be working closely with Executive Director Susan Singleton on a smooth transition prior to her retirement on July 29. 
  • CARLI will hold a retirement/welcome reception at the I-Hotel on July 29 to say farewell to Susan Singleton, and to introduce Anne Craig to CARLI.
  • Results of the 2016 Board election were announced. The newly elected members who will serve three-year terms (July 1, 2016–June 30, 2019) are: Cindy Fuller (Millikin University), Cate Kaufman (Illinois Central College), and Lydia Morrow Ruetten (Governors State University). Directors appointed to one-year terms are: Jim Cubit (Lake Forest College), Dane Ward (Illinois State University), and Frances Whaley (Illinois Valley Community College) representing private colleges and universities, public universities, and community colleges respectively.
  • The Board meeting dates for 2016–2017 will be September 16, 2016; December 2, 2016; March 10, 2017; and June 9, 2017. 
  • CARLI has received information from University of Illinois Administration (UA) regarding the current fiscal year state appropriation. CARLI's portion of the partial allocation that the University of Illinois received recently from the State of Illinois is $1.59 million, a significant reduction from our state allocation of $4.1 million for FY 2015. CARLI, and nearly all other units of UA, will be operating at a significant deficit for FY 2016. Pending further guidance from UA, CARLI is continuing to operate under the 20% permanent budget reduction in operating expenses that we were directed to model beginning July 1, 2015. 
  • The CARLI contract with the Five College Library Depository will end on June 30, 2016. The contract will not be renewed.
  • The new CARLI selection system was used for the first time for the FY17 selection cycle. Some development work continues but we expect to receive the final system from the developer in early August. 
  • The selection period Fiscal Year ended with 2031 database subscriptions from 120 participating libraries, a slight decrease from FY16. With the greater usability of the new selection system, CARLI permitted vendors to offer more new products for FY17. Libraries committed to 56 subscriptions from this group of 112 new products.
  • The VuFind 3 discovery interface is available for I-Share library staff testing and review. 
  • Three new I-Share libraries will be added to I-Share this summer. The new libraries, expected to be live in I-Share by July 31 are: Meadville Lombard Theological School, South Suburban College, and Black Hawk College.  
  • The Governing membership of Kendall College, and their participation in I-Share, will end on June 30, 2016. 
  • CARLI sent the recently revised I-Share agreement out to directors at all I-Share libraries in early May. As of June 17, 51 I-Share participating libraries have returned their completed agreements. Current I-Share agreements will remain in place until the new agreements are received. 
  • CARLI has completed the committee appointment process for terms beginning July 1, 2016. 
  • CARLI will publicize the Committee annual projects in the upcoming e-newsletter, directors' update, web site, and various email lists. 
  • The Reaching Across Illinois Library System (RAILS) was awarded the contract for library delivery following the ILDS Request for Proposal process. They will begin providing delivery service for ILDS effective July 1, 2016.

Tasks Assigned: 

CARLI will follow up with I-Share libraries who have not yet returned their new participation agreements.

Meeting Dates and Deadlines:

  • 2016-2017 Board meetings
    • Friday, September 16, 2016, CARLI Office, Champaign
    • Friday, December 2, 2016, CARLI Office, Champaign 
    • Friday, March 10, 2017, CARLI Office, Champaign 
    • Friday, June 9, 2017, CARLI Office, Champaign 
  • 2016-2017 Executive Committee meetings (via conference call): 
    • Wednesday, September 7, 2016
    • Tuesday, November 22, 2016
    • Wednesday, March 1, 2017
    • Wednesday, May 31, 2017